Charlotte County
Value Adjustment Board
18500 Murdock Circle, Room 416
Port Charlotte, Florida 33948
Telephone (941) 743-1404
Fax(941) 743-1928


  1. The taxpayer objects to the Property Appraiser's value assessment of the taxpayer's
    real or personal property.
  2. The taxpayer's application for any of the following exemptions or special use classifications
    is denied:
      ·homestead exemption
      ·any other tax exemption as provided by Chapter 196, Florida Statutes or
      ·any special use classification as provided by Chapter 193, Florida Statutes.

Forgot your password?

Forgot your password?

Welcome to Charlotte County Value Adjustment Board


If you would like to file a petition to the Value Adjustment Board (VAB) for the 2023 tax year.

You may do so by clicking on 'Begin Filing a Petition Now'.

Please complete the appropriate online petition form by completing all required fields and by clicking "Submit". Do not click the "Back" button on your web browser while completing your petition.

After submitting your petition, you will be prompted to submit the required $15.00 filing fee. (Please note that a Convenience Fee of 3.5% will be added to the transaction).

You are required to submit a valid email address in order to electronically submit a petition online. Once your Petition has been successfully submitted, you will receive a Transaction Number and Password that can be used to access the following in the future:

  • Review your petition
  • Log in to track your petition status and hearing date(s) information
  • Submit your evidence in PDF format
  • Review evidence submitted by the Property Appraiser
  • View other documentation related to your petition   

You may also file a petition in person or by mail at 18500 Murdock Circle, Room 416, Port Charlotte, FL 33948. Please make $15.00 check payable to BCC. All forms can be located on the DOR Website at:

If you require additional information regarding your petition to the VAB or upcoming hearing, you may contact the VAB Clerk at or by dialing 941-743-1404.    


Department of Revenue Notice - Partial Payment of Taxes

State law requires a partial payment of taxes on properties that have a Value Adjustment Board petition on or before the payment delinquency date (normally April 1, following the assessment year under review however, this date can vary). If the required partial payment is not made before the delinquency date, the Value Adjustment Board will deny your petition. The last day to make the partial payment before the delinquency date is generally March 31. Review your tax bill or contact your tax collector to determine your delinquency date at 941-743-1567.

Petitioners should be aware that even if a Special Magistrate's recommended decision has been issued, a partial payment is still required before the delinquency date. A Special Magistrate’s recommended decision is not a final decision of the Value Adjustment Board.

Timeframes to File Your Petition:

Assessment Appeals: You must file a petition with the VAB within 25 days after the Property Appraiser mails your Notice of Proposed Property Taxes also known as Truth in Millage (TRIM notice). This usually occurs during the month of August.

Exemption or Classification Appeals: You must file a petition with the VAB within 30 days after the Property Appraiser mails your denial notice. The Property Appraiser must mail all denial notices by July 1.

Tax Deferral Appeals: You must file a petition with the VAB within 30 days after the tax collector mails your denial notice.

Portability Appeals: You must file a petition with the VAB within 25 days after the property appraiser mails your TRIM notice.

Late Filed Appeals: If you file a petition with the VAB after the filing deadline, the petition is subject to a good cause review by the VAB Attorney. The VAB Attorney will review the late filed petition to determine whether or not there is good cause to accept the petition after the filing window has expired. If good cause is found, your petition will be scheduled for a hearing. If good cause is not found, your petition will not be scheduled for a hearing and no further action will be taken. 

Required Fees:

If you are filing a petition to appeal the denial of homestead exemption, please note that consistent with Section 194.013, Florida Statutes, there is no filing fee required.  However, there is a $15 non-refundable filing fee for all other petitions to the Value Adjustment Board.  No refunds will be made - all fees paid are final.  Your petition is NOT considered filed until the appropriate filing fee has been received by the VAB Clerk.